The View Up Here

Random scribblings about kites, photography, machining, and anything else

IDCD 2016 – Part 2

Posted by Tom Benedict on 02/05/2016

Cloud Forest

As it turns out it did rain, but my gear survived!

Unfortunately the sound of the raindrops falling on the koa leaves that lined the forest floor dominated the soundscape during the dawn chorus. Koa leaves are very flat, and provide no loft to the forest floor to absorb the shock of a raindrop hitting. It has all the acoustic properties of water drops hitting wet cardboard. Even more unfortunate, the low-slung arrangement of my SASS meant that the microphones were only about 12″ from the forest floor. I basically close-mic’ed the raindrops, and left the birds in the diffuse soundfield. That’s the opposite of what I wanted!

But I’ll let you judge for yourself. Here’s the dawn chorus from the Upper Waiakea Forest Reserve in its entirety:

(I still haven’t figured out how to make a nice, neat link to Soundcloud files.)

Despite the rain I’m taking it as a win. The gear setup works, I can leave it deployed overnight, and it can survive rain. YAY! But it places the mics too close to the ground for it to ever work well with rain. I’ll have to come up with another arrangement for recording rainfall, preferably something that lets me position the mics a good deal higher up in the air. (More R&D!)

In case you’re wondering what the birds sound like when it’s not raining, this is a sample from the evening before International Dawn Chorus Day, before the birds went to bed and well before the rain started.

Unfortunately, despite being over a mile from the highway some traffic noise is still audible in parts of the full-length track. The next time I do this I need to find a more secluded spot to set my gear.

Tom

One Response to “IDCD 2016 – Part 2”

  1. cqqrt9 said

    These recordings are amazing! (I mean, this isn’t a grand compliment coming from me…I don’t know anything about birds and I thought the sound of the rain was majestic and awesome) And yay on equipment survival! Now you know.

Leave a Reply

 
