The View Up Here

Random scribblings about kites, photography, machining, and anything else

World Wide KAP Week 2011 – Day 3

Posted by Tom Benedict on 02/05/2011

I managed to squeeze in two sessions today.  One turned out well, the other… not so well.

The day started at Anaehoomalu Bay.  Ever since the tsunami I’ve been fascinated by how the sand moves around now that the fish pond is open to tidal flow.  It’s still evolving, and is quite different from the session I did there a week after the tsunami.  I didn’t make a good panorama of the break in the fish pond wall this time, but instead focused on the resort area and the beach.

Waikoloa Resorts May 2011

Anaehoomalu Bay Beach 2011

I flew the Nokia Push N8 gear here, too, with mixed results.  There’s new software for the phones that fixed many of the ills that were causing me grief in the field.  I tested the software out at home with really good results, but somehow got something wrong when I flew at Anaehoomalu Bay.  None of the stills took at all, and all the videos were rotated ninety degrees to one side.  BUMMERS!  I was really looking forward to processing the several panoramas I did this morning.  I’ll see what I can do with the video, but I’m not holding out too much hope.  Of course this means I need to return here for a redemption round with the N8 hardware once I get this sorted out!

In the afternoon the family and I went to Hapuna Beach.  The wind at Hapuna has been slim to none the last several times we went.  I didn’t really hold out much hope, but I brought all the kite gear anyway.  The wind was lame.

Lame

But the sunset was really quite fine.

Sunset Boogie Silhouette

I’m not sure what tomorrow will bring.  I have at least one KAP session I need to do for work, possibly two.  I also have an elevated pole session I need to do for the school my daughter goes to.  It should be a good week!

The only real downer in all this is that I got my first migraine after returning home from Hapuna.  Not much pain, but full-throttle visuals and nausea.  Maybe too much staring up into a bright, sunlit sky?  Who knows.  I just hope I can get out tomorrow.  World Wide KAP Week only comes around once a year!

– Tom

Leave a Reply

 
