The View Up Here

Random scribblings about kites, photography, machining, and anything else

World Wide KAP Week 2011 – Pre-Planning

Posted by Tom Benedict on 29/04/2011

Tomorrow is the beginning of World Wide KAP Week 2011.  I’ve taken the time off from work, my batteries are charged, my kites are packed, and it’s time to fly.

This year is special for a couple of reasons.  The first is I’m taking the Push N8 gear along with me.  I had some issues that cost me my window of availability with the humpback whales this season, but I’ve got other plans for the gear.  I’m planning to use it from a kite and from a pole, and make a video that shows of some of the cooler spots on the Big Island of Hawaii.  The rough part will be editing it down to a couple of minutes worth of film.  I hope the process hurts.  It means I got more good stuff than I can use.

The second is that it may well be the last year my trusty A650 IS is my primary KAP camera.  A couple of weeks ago I picked up a Canon T2i DSLR with an 18-55mm kit lens.  I’ve been after this camera for a while, but haven’t been able to pull it off until now.  I’m planning to take it with me during WWKW 2011, but it will remain firmly on the ground.  Next year, the T2i will likely be my primary.

The third is that I’ll be working at least one day this week, doing KAP for work at the summit of Mauna Kea.  We’re planning to do flow visualization around our dome using ground cameras as well as KAP cameras, with smoke as the flow tracer.  The jury is still out on whether we want to do this.  Smoke at the summit can cause all sorts of issues, including damage to thin optical coatings, residue on the exterior of the building, etc.  But I’m picking up the flares tomorrow so we can test.  Time will tell.

It’s going to be a good World Wide KAP Week this year.  I’m planning on it.

The weather for tomorrow calls for slow winds along the North Kona Coast with a northerly setting up for the Kailua-Kona area by around 11:00am.  I’m planning to start around Anaehoomalu Bay, maybe pick up Keawaiki and Kiholo Bay, stop at Kua Bay and maybe Makalawena Beach.  After lunch and a quick stop to pick up the flares for work, the plan is to do KAP around Kailua-Kona, finishing up near sunset as the wind dies down for the evening.  I’ll post an update tomorrow to let everyone know how it goes.

Here’s wishing everyone a good World Wide KAP Week 2011!  May your skies be blue, your wind be steady, your kites fly well, and your photography be excellent.

– Tom

Leave a Reply

 
