The View Up Here

Random scribblings about kites, photography, machining, and anything else

New KAP Camera – Canon T2i

Posted by Tom Benedict on 22/04/2011

Just in time for a three-day weekend, my new camera arrived.  The first thing I did when I opened the box was…  Ok, it was to jump up and down for joy.  After that I plugged in the battery charger and started it going.  But the next thing was to put it on the scale and see what the damage was going to be to my flying weight.

My A650IS, flight ready with its batteries came out to 383g.  The T2i, flight ready with its battery came out to 733g, a difference of 350g.  My three-axis A650 rig, flight ready with the camera installed comes out to 940g.  To build the T2i rig to be less than or equal to this weight gives me approximately 207g to play with.  Depending on the rig I build, this may not be as ridiculous as it seems.  An ortho mapping rig, for example, is relatively easy to build in less than 100g.  A pan axis typically adds less than 100g.  So a panorama rig for the T2i may still result in a final flying weight no worse than my current rig.  Building a full pan/tilt/plan rotation rig like the one for my A650 is almost certainly out of the question at the moment.  I don’t have the kites to fly it, and pushing my existing kites that hard isn’t any fun.  (Trust me, I’ve done it.)

World Wide KAP Week 2011 begins next Friday.  I may do some design work on my new rig(s) over that week, but it’s more likely that I’ll be out doing KAP the entire time.  I don’t expect to begin on the new rig design in earnest until the end of WWKW 2011.  At that point I’ll start posting my design notes, preliminary drawings, and eventually photographs of the actual build(s).

Meanwhile I plan to carry it around wherever I go and get used to using a DSLR again.  It’s been a while.  And with all the bells and whistles on the T2i that might be useful in the air, I’ve got a lot of ground testing to do before it takes to the skies.

It’s going to be a fun couple of weeks!

– Tom

Leave a Reply

 
