The View Up Here

Random scribblings about kites, photography, machining, and anything else

Life Catches Up

Posted by Tom Benedict on 15/08/2010

Sometimes live has a way of kicking you where it counts.  Hard.  Some weeks ago I ordered a Canon T2i and 18-55mm kit lens.  My intention was to convert most of my KAP gear to the T2i, and use a single camera on the ground as well as in the air.  That was the idea, anyway.

The first sign of trouble came when the vendor refused to ship through any carrier than UPS.  I really wish more vendors would use the US Postal Service and their excellent Priority Mail option.  I live on an island in the middle of the Pacific.  Flat rate means flat rate, whether it’s going from Houston to Austin or Houston to Hawaii.  With UPS, it matters.  A lot.  A second day package typically takes three to four days and costs upwards of $30 to ship.  That same package shipped Priority Mail costs about $5 and takes… three to four days.  No brainer in my book.  In any case they couldn’t be swayed, so I gave them my work address.

The next sign of trouble came when they said my work address wasn’t on file with my credit card.  ??!  No, obviously not.  But I’ve shipped packages there in the past.  After a fair bit of discussion with them, they told me this is a favored scam technique to use stolen credit card numbers.  It also means you can’t order a gift for someone from them and have it drop-shipped to another address.

Around the time that we got all this sorted out, reality started to hit in other ways.  I had an optometrist’s appointment, and needed new glasses.  $300.  One of our cats got sick and needed veterinary care.  $250.  I goofed and forgot about school and school supplies.  $250.  (Kids are expensive!)  They kept adding up.  I saw the writing on the wall, and once I got shipping sorted with the camera vendor, I had to apologize and cancel my order.  The money for my T2i was spent before the order ever cleared all the confusion over shipping.  Not on camera gear, but on life.

I wish that wasn’t how things worked, but for me it is.  Despite my efforts to push myself and my photography to the point where I can turn semi-pro, it hasn’t happened yet.  I’m still a hobbyist.  My wife assures me the time will come, but for now I’m still using my A650 and plan to make the most of it.

– Tom

2 Responses to “Life Catches Up”

  1. Cat said

    Dear Tom: Make large 26 X30 inch prints of your photography and post them for sale on your web-site, having the purchaser pay the shipping, and these sales can help you raise the money for your new camera. Think “fund-raiser”.
    Cat

    • Tom Benedict said

      I’ve done this in the past, but by selling 11×14 prints. I LOVE the idea of the larger prints, and most of my panoramas would stand up to that size printing. Come to think of it, so would the single frame images. Hmmm!

      Now I just need to revamp the web site and get my newer stuff up. Aaaah, can’t beat a good swift kick in the seat of the pants. Thanks!

      Tom

Leave a Reply

 
