The View Up Here

Random scribblings about kites, photography, machining, and anything else

The Good and The Bad

Posted by Tom Benedict on 09/07/2010

The 2010 SPIE Astronomical Instrumentation conference was a blast.  We worked some seriously late hours, and all of us were dragging our tails by the end of it.  But the amount of information I came home with was…  for want of a better term, it was astronomical.  But that’s a post for another day.  This one is about the KAP I managed to do while I was there.

“Managed” is the right word to use in this case.  Sunset was at 8pm, and the only full day I had to do KAP was the Saturday before the conference.  I had some problems with my flight, so most of that day was lost.  Even so, it was the most productive day I had, from a KAP standpoint.  I wound up staying at the Porto Vista Hotel in Little Italy.  I highly recommend it for a couple of reasons:  1 – It’s a nice hotel.  That’s tough to beat.  2 – Close proximity to a lot of good KAPing.  3 – It’s in Little Italy!  As it turns out it’s also close to a camera store, which I didn’t visit, and a Blick Art Supply, which I did.  Twice.  It’s about a two minute walk to the nearest trolley station, and it’s only a few blocks from the Maritime Museum, which boasts some outstanding KAP subjects.  Unfortunately none of the KAP I did there really worked out.  This is the best of my efforts:

Maritime Museum

Further down, there were a number of other good subjects.  Some I wound up photographing with a pole, others with a kite.  By far the best KAP I had in San Diego was at the marina at Seaport Village:

Seaport Village Marina

The wind was steady enough to let me do some panoramas as well, one of which turned out nicely:

Seaport Village Marina Panorama

Heading back toward the hotel is the USS Midway and the statue, “Welcome Home”, which I photographed using a carbon pole:

Welcome Home

If you’re already taking framed kites with you, I highly recommend bringing a lightweight pole as well.  The carbon pole I use is a collapsible fishing pole intended for breem fishing.  It’s far from ideal, and the performance isn’t up to that of the higher end carbon fiber carp poles.  But it’s light, it’s portable, and it only cost me $20 at K-Mart.  I had no problems transporting mine, but even if it did take damage, it was cheap insurance against poor wind or restrictions on flying.  It also let me do some night photography in and around Little Italy:

Fountain in Little Italy, San Diego

Little Italy at Night

The only time I flew once the conference began was on a day when there weren’t any afternoon sessions I really wanted to attend.  Instead I grabbed my gear, got on the trolley, and headed over to the SDSU campus.  The wind was plenty strong, the weather was clear, and it should’ve been a fantastic KAP session.

It wasn’t.  The wind was strong but turbulent, and before I even got a camera up, my Dopero inverted.  I was in the middle of setting up my rig, so everything was clipped off.  I frantically tried to unclip my winder and line in time to let line out and try to save the kite, but I was too late.  The line came down across the Malcom A Love Library.  My heart sank!  I had no way of telling if the kite had hit the roof, or the glass dome just beyond.  I felt like an idiot.  Overwhelmed with dejection, I packed up my gear, reeled in the line, and walked over to see what the damage was.

Lo and behold, there was my kite dangling about halfway down the side of the building.  It was out of reach of my pole, but to my immense surprise it had inverted again just before landing, so it was sitting nose up!  In case you’ve never seen a Dopero, one attribute of this beautiful kite is that it is extremely stable.  Once it’s pointed in a given direction, it really likes to go in that direction.  It’s a little sluggish on reacting to changes in wind direction, which is one of the things that makes it an excellent kite for KAP.  I knew if I put some tension on the line, it would try to fly.  More to the point, it would try to fly straight up and off the library.

I went back out to where I’d been standing, took up all the slack I could, and heaved.  The tension in the line built as it stretched, then I felt two distinct yanks as the kite cleared the far side, and then the near side of the building.  A little shaken, a little wiser (I hope) I brought my Dopero down, packed it away, and sweated for a little while.

In the end I changed winders and switched to a 6′ rokkaku.  It wasn’t enough to lift the camera reliably, but I got some decent low-altitude KAP:

Flower Bed Outside Hepner Hall - SDSU

Love Library Plaza - SDSU

Love Library - SDSU

Shortly after I packed everything up, jumped back on the trolley, and got back to the conference for the evening session and poster presentations.  By the time I got back to the hotel, I was beat.  But a KAP session isn’t complete until the gear is checked, so I examined my line for fraying (surprisingly none!) and checked my Dopero for dings.  It got a small tear in the sail, which I opted to fix once I got home.  Other than that, I got away unscathed.

More to the point, I got away lucky.  The lesson was still learned:  If the conditions aren’t right, it’s better to walk away than to risk hurting someone, damaging property, or damaging your own gear.

Leave a Reply

 
