The View Up Here

Random scribblings about kites, photography, machining, and anything else

The Next Hurdle – Weather

Posted by Tom Benedict on 06/05/2010

I finally weighed my new rig.  I was right.  It’s not too much more than my old rig, but it’s still significant.  The camera + batteries + lens hood came in at 405g.  The new rig + batteries + legs came in at 537g.  Total flying weight added up to 942g, a significant bump from the ~850g I used to fly with.  Still, the extra ~90g of weight offers a lot more capability for the kind of shooting I seem to be doing.  Well worth it.

The next hurdle appears to be weather and everything else associated with it.  Last weekend I did get out with my rig, but didn’t get a lot of photography done.  I found nice subjects, but the weather wasn’t cooperative.  Ho hum.

This is nothing new, and this is nothing specific to KAP.  Ask any photographer, and they’ll tell you that as soon as they see a great scene setting up, the light changes.  Or the clouds roll in.  Or the clouds roll out.  Or something happens to make the shot not quite what it could’ve been.

I’m no different.  Last Saturday morning I got out and tried valiantly to out-distance the heavy overcast that was making the skies around Waimea absolute blahsville.  I drove almost an hour out Mana Road, and never got out from under the clouds.  In the end I gave it up as a bad idea and came back with what ground shots I got.  Later that day the family and I took off to photograph the lava flow at Kalapana.  The weather was fantastic, but the lava flow had shifted, and the folks working security moved the barriers back to the point where you couldn’t see anything at all.  We finally called it a day and went back to Hilo to catch dinner before driving home.

But the weather at the house was overcast the whole time, so I can’t say we made a bad call.  Just an uninformed one.  This set me on a mission to find better tools for predicting weather for photography.  So far the best I came across is a site run by the National Weather Service.  It offers a variety of weather maps for the various islands of Hawaii, including one that indicates the extent of the VOG cloud coming out of Halemaumau Crater.  Combined with the wind maps I already rely on for flying kites, this may just be the best guide for where to find photogenic conditions for doing landscape photography on the Big Island.

I should have a good opportunity to test this over the weekend.  My daughters have a social agenda that spans all of Saturday, so my wife offered to run them around, and asked me to take care of my son for the day.  We both looked at each other like we couldn’t believe our good fortune!  My son has been my companion on more photography outings than I can count, and he’s as excited at being able to go somewhere new as I am.  So I’m using the NWS maps, my list of sites I’d like to do photography, and the Mauna Kea Soaring wind maps to plan our day.

Maybe this time we’ll have better luck.  Or maybe this time we’ll plan a head and make a little luck for ourselves in the process!

– Tom

Leave a Reply

 
